Look mom, I made my own augmented reality!

This post is the 19th in a series for a graduate course called Theory and Audience Analysis. For the course, I will be posting weekly questions and follow-up analysis about the various readings we are assigned. This post is an a ridiculously awesome example of augmented reality, well at least awesome that I got it too work.

Below is a video of the Flash Augmented Reality sphere in action! This was fun to make but I see a lot of issues in practicality with using AR. Implementation on mobile devices could definitely change my opinion, especially when the technology is able to read everyday objects like a tree or a magazine, but as it is with this example: it’s basically like a super awesome QR code.

Click here to try it for yourself: http://torrezriley.com/flash/flar/Earth.swf

You will need a webcam and to print this jpg image.
Show it to the webcam and you should see the special beach ball for yourself.

I used this website tutorial to create this FLAR. It was a lot of trial and error in creating a new image overlay and new materials discoveries in order to post it live online (did you know .dae files have CODE!), but it works. Fiero moment!

One thought on “Look mom, I made my own augmented reality!

  1. Pingback: My Own Personal Augmented Reality « iMedia Blog

Leave a Reply

