Welcome to JRTR blogging iMedia

Two weeks ago I began a journey called the Interactive Media Master’s program at Elon University. Over the next 10 months I will be filling my brain with lots of wonderful knowledge about the world of digital media development and design. Currently we are in a three-week workshop to get a crash-course in the software we will be learning and depending on throughout the program.

After the introductory greetings of the first few days, it was time to get down to business with Flash. We started with simple animation techniques and slide show creation and then worked our way up to Actionscript 3.0 and basic website design. As I have never even opened the program before it was challenging and overwhelming at first, but I can see the potential for amazing that Flash offers. I am excited to dive deeper into the program and move far beyond my little alien animation.

Following Flash my group moved on to XHTML/CSS web design. I want to focus on this area, but it was definitely challenging building a site from nothing. (We were using Dreamweaver.) I had some familiarity with HTML from my past blogging experiences, but CSS was a new animal. My resulting site about Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood lacked a lot of sophistication, but I was proud that it worked at all. Outside of class I learned some great techniques, like rounded corners(!) and hover for links, that made the website look like more than just a bunch of blocks. I also dabbled with a bit of JavaScript in my attempts to get a template slide show I found on CSS-Tricks.com to work.

With both the Flash and the HTML/CSS projects, I see that it is going to take a lot of time and troubleshooting to get a handle on these programs. I am looking forward to many late nights and long days, because I want to get to a high level of sophistication in my design and development skills of these two programs.

Leave a Reply

